ARTS & Crafts

20140608-120119-43279022.jpg
ON Facebook we are told to honor “the artist” *

HERE IS MY COMMENT:
This is also true for those who “practice” the art of “word-smithing” – it’s not just “writing” any old way.

It’s the careful study of words, their meaning and how to craft them in such a method, as to relay their message in an effective, direct and meaningful manner – hopefully, all done under the guidance of God’s Holy Spirit.**

I’m not sure, but in our world today – this may be a dying art. In the world of the Internet, we are ever looking for a quick, easy way to express our opinions – I may just want to LOL,  or  BTW,   C U later – ❤ & 😉
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Don’t forget to honor the Master Artist – our God.

20140608-115704-43024293.jpg
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I think that I shall never see
A poem lovely as a tree.

A tree whose hungry mouth is prest
Against the earth’s sweet flowing breast;

A tree that looks at God all day,
And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

A tree that may in summer wear
A nest of robins in her hair;

Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
Who intimately lives with rain.

Poems are made by fools like me,
But only God can make a tree.

Joyce Kilmer
_______________________________________________________________________________
*Facebook comment below
20140608-113218-41538038.jpg
_______________________________________________________________________________
*”Basket Tree” at top is one of many “Circus Trees”
As a hobby, bean farmer Axel Erlandson [wiki] shaped trees – he pruned, bent, and grafted trees into fantastic shapes and called them “Circus Trees.” For example, to make this “Basket Tree” arborsculpture, Erlandson planted six sycamore trees in a circle and then grafted them together to form the diamond patterns.
Please Follow: +Interesting Things, at:
https://plus.google.com/app/basic/112644748741572377940/posts?cbp=1922dtdl0asew&sview=27&cid=5&soc-app=115&soc-platform=1&spath=/app/basic/a/autoload/112644748741572377940/
posts&sparm=cbp%3Dqjbem3kjw7xq%26sview%3D27%26cid%3D5%26soc-app%3D115%26soc-platform%3D1%26stct%3DEgkIoPi_or-9vgIo6OePlMLsvgIw1NiC6PjsvgI4CEAC

**Take your writing art one step further – add cadence/rhythm and flowing prose. Insert better words for the mundane – avoid repetition (same word used twice in a paragraph). Spice it with mystery, secrets and hidden clues to deeper thought. Don’t spill all your “beans” at once.

Let there be an artful unfolding, leave something to the imagination; that is, do not spell out every detail in minute, painfully long dissertations (I sometimes have trouble with this last one). And remember… There are always exceptions to the rules. Grammar rules sometimes need to be broken (except for technical and formal writing). THINK: write as if you were a stranger critiquing the piece.

HOWEVER, ABOVE ALL – relax, be yourself. Don’t stress over your writing. Just put down your thoughts as is. There will be plenty of time to go back over your words, afterwards. Just follow a few preliminary steps before you begin – you’ll see them in the next paragraph.

•ASK God to guide you.
•Pray that God speaks through you, and the Holy Spirit place a guard over your thoughts and words.
•Study your King James Bible.

Your vocabulary will expand, knowledge increase and comprehension of the complex will soar off the charts. I know… when a child, I was labeled “retarded” (learning disabled), and told that I would never graduate from high school. God found me, fixed me up and I graduated with 3 more credits than what I needed, then went on to college. Though, all the while I was growing, I had a love for writing poetry and short stories. Of course, I read voraciously.

God bless each and every one that reads my “Best Bible Blog”
at https://marioncheek.wordpress.com — all you guys are in my prayers. That’s right, I pray for my “followers” and those who “like” me, ❤ me, and Lol with me 😀
_______________________________________________________________________________
20140608-121439-44079700.jpg
The Artist for above: http://esterroi.com
_______________________________________________________________________________

20140609-100211-36131689.jpg

HERE IS THE LINK for the “Manifesto”:
http://blog.smashwords.com/2014/04/indie-author-manifesto.html
Thank you Mark (& Brian) – I wish I had found this sooner in my life

Leave a Reply

