๐Ÿ™ˆ BLIND Prison ๐Ÿ‘ฎ

BLIND Prison๐Ÿ‘“

ONE TIME, I was invited to a prison called “Angola.” This prison housed only the “worst of the worst.” Sorta like Alcatraz ๐Ÿ‘ฎ

I WAS TOLD that when these men are placed in this prison house – they throw away the key ๐Ÿ”‘

BLACK men, make up 80% of those incarcerated – which, I believe, is mostly our society’s fault ๐Ÿš”

HOW DESPERATE will a person get, if they tell you, “we have thrown away the key. You’ll NEVER get out?!” ๐Ÿ”’

SOME might say that it was “coincidence” that I happened to knock on the door of the man who’s brother was the coach of the New Orleans Saints. Yet, that door opened another, into a world I had never been ๐Ÿšช
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
As a CRSB District Representative, I visit the blind๐Ÿ’ผ๐Ÿ‘ฅ. I find out if the visually challenged read Braille or Large Print๐Ÿ“’. If not, we have Audio/Digital ๐Ÿ“€๐Ÿ’ฟ

Christian Record Services for the BLIND has been publishing since 1899. I get a lot of requests for Bibles ๐Ÿ“–. The Braille Bible stands 5 feet tall – about the size of a small woman ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ”

Helen KELLER was our most famous client she was both BLIND and DEAF ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™‰

There was a movie about Keller’s life. The movie is titled after her teacher, Anne Sullivan. It’s called “The Miracle Worker.” Patty Duke played Keller as a child. Anne Bancroft portrayed Annie Sullivan, an “half blind Yankee girl” [Legally Blind] who I believe was just 18, when she met Hellen Keller.

Ms. Sullivan, along with her brother, had been raised in a “Lazer house” โ€” a home for the poor… that is, THE old, sick and/or dying POOR in the community. SHE WATCHED as her brother succumbed to his illness and died.

See LINK for a RARE 3 minute video on how Hellen Keller learned to actually speak! ๐Ÿ™Š ๐Ÿ…ฐ
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Braille BIBLES are very expensive. So, I solicit for funds (๐Ÿ’ฒ) in the business community to support this work. What made me knock on this man’s front door I do not know ๐Ÿ‘ผ. Nevertheless, there I was. And there he was, telling me I NEED to go with him into the DREADED Angola, to see these hardened murderers!

NOW this is not an easy task. I don’t know how it is today, but back then you couldn’t just stroll on in to take a “lookey see” ๐Ÿšถ. No – there are all kinds of problems with any “spur-of-the-moment” type plans. It just doesn’t happen!

It’s impossible folks ๐Ÿ™…. At least for this prison.

AS IT IS, they search your car๐Ÿš—, they search your person๐Ÿ™Ž, you have to leave your purse๐Ÿ‘œ, and your “first born” at the front desk ๐Ÿ˜ณ.

Well, Mr. “X” (I can’t remember his name) told me he had all kinds of connections๐Ÿ˜™. I believe him, because we just breezed on through๐Ÿ‘ฏ. BUT… when I heard those prison bars slam shut behind me (with a man I hardly knew) — well, I can tell you this, I had 2nd thoughts (& 3rd’s & 4th’s &… – oh, you get the idea๐Ÿ˜ฐ).

NOW I’m not one to be a “scaredy kat” ๐Ÿ™€ – I have nerves of steel, and guts to spare (I grew up with 3 brothers & no sister). They showed me how to throw and catch a football ๐Ÿ‰(if you place your fingers just right, along the seam, you can throw it pretty far, with a nice spin to it) and toss long-stemmed sticker-burrs at my opponents, and taught me how to search for spiders at night with a flash-light ๐Ÿ”ฆ– their eyes shine ๐Ÿ‘€ (not my brother’s eyes, you silly – the “spider’s eyes”!๐Ÿ˜œ)

OKAY, you get the drift. But, I tell you, it’s different when that prison door slams shut. Though no one could tell it – I was unnerved. However, I kept my cool ๐Ÿ™(but all the while thinking, “you know, these guys could take me hostage in order to try to make a deal for better prison accommodations, etc, etc”)

YET, there we were, me and Mr. “X”walking down that long, long, long corridor๐Ÿ‘ฃ to some mysterious interior holding cell (I imagined). You can imagine my surprise, when we got to some ordinary looking office room. I saw some clean-cut looking guys learning how to BRAILLE type. They were real friendly and courteous๐Ÿ‘ฆ. So, I thought the least I could do is to be friendly and courteous back to them๐Ÿ™‹.

I FOUND that these guys were learning skills. This particular skill they were learning was how to sight read Braille. Then type on a special Brailler, in order to put together books for the Blind.

I was AMAZED. Here they were โ€” Society’s PRISONERS (with MATERIAL barriers) who were learning skills to help the visually CHALLENGED, (with PHYSICAL barriers) many of whom are PRISONERS as well, of this world โ€” both imprisoned , as a result of Satan’s antics.

Yet, for the GLORY of GOD, BOTH would be released from many BARRIERS, through the work of BRAILLE โ€” touched by the HAND of GOD!

๐Ÿ…ฐ link for Keller Video: http://youtu.be/Gv1uLfF35Uw

3 thoughts on “๐Ÿ™ˆ BLIND Prison ๐Ÿ‘ฎ

  1. Thanks Harley for your like. It was a thrill for me to go to that prison AND to know someone also who was the brother of the New Orleans Saints football coach — it doesn’t take much to entertain me – I’m a cheap date ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

